1949 - The Furtwänglerian art of conducting
   

Back  

 

 

The Furtwänglerian art of conducting: a panorama

 

1949

 

Bruckner, Symphony n°7

 

by Felix Matus-Echaiz

 

 

 

CD SWF 051

 

                                  Bruckner

Symphony n°7

                    Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

                                        18.X.1949, Berlin

 
 
1

  I. Allegro moderato
0’00 - 1’02

For the music-lover looking for getting initiated in the art of Furtwängler’s handling of a given tempo, the first minute of the Symphony n°7 is a beautiful and significant example.

Four different tempi are concerned here. These modifications, or rather the adaptation of the tempo to the expression, correspond exactly to the four segments of the principal theme; one of Bruckner’s longest motives (to the exception of the beginning of the 2nd symphony).

The first tempo (0’00 to 0’10) leads us straight to the highest note of the celli. The change of the tessitura (0’13) and of the climate, is marked by a slight inflexion of the tempo. The third tempo (0’34), is faster, thus giving more intensity to the celli’s singing, and is brought on by more nervous tremolos. The fourth one (0’45), which underlines the end of the principal theme, is in fact a rallentando.

The interpretation of the transitional bar of the theme from the celli to the violins is a masterpiece of a unique musical and expressive intelligence.

       
 
2

  I. Allegro moderato
4'20 - 5'04

In this passage (a great crescendo which culminates into a... piano) which is quite difficult to bring into light, Furtwängler combines to perfection two of his major assets : the sense of expression and musical logic. Contrary to the usual execution of this passage, the great conductor deliberately ignores the monolithic aspect. His tripartite structure (marked by the intervention of new instruments) is subtly put in evidence. In order to underline each sequence (i.e. at 0'00, then at 0'20 and 0'28), he re-launches the musical phrase by “spurring” on the orchestra. A great rallentando brings us to the peak of the crescendo.

       
 
3

 I. Allegro moderato
6'02 - 6'50

The sixteen bars of this passage, with its pastoral characteristic, sound like a peace haven. The lightness and the transparency of the strings are admirable. Worthy of note are the horn entrance (0’20) and the delicate rallentando (0’24).

       
 
4

 I. Allegro moderato
7’54 - 8’24

This part of the development, in which the celli play the second theme of the movement is one of the most poignant ever composed by Bruckner. In Furtwängler’s interpretation the preparatory eight bars of this great moment (two “questions” first asked by the celli, then by the violins and oboe) simply make one hold his breath.

       
 
5

I. Allegro moderato
8’26 - 9’17

The celli, already having played a major role at the beginning of the symphony, take ownership on these measures. The “ohne ausdruck” (or "without expression"), often requested by the great conductor in this type of passage, only enhances the broadness of the tune and its overwhelming despondency.

       
 
6

I. Allegro moderato
17’43-19’09

If the beginning of the movement is a proper initiation for getting acquainted with the “magic” of Furtwängler’s tempo, the Coda is yet another for those who want to become familiar with his unequalled crescendi.

Once again, we must dwell on the conductor’s tripartite structure, essential for the clarity and comprehension of this passage.

The first measures of this Coda (0’00- 0’24) are played with a minimum of expressive intensity. A clear change of climate (0’25), of which the conductor possessed the secret, marks the second section of this large crescendo. The third part (0’41), where the last flight starts, sounds like an “unleashing” of all the pent up energy of the preceding bars.

In the last measures, the power of the horns, as well as the timpani which seem to “crush” the orchestra, are well worth listening to with the utmost attention.
 

 

 

Translation: Sami Habra

(c) 2006

 
 

 

The composer | The Man - | The conductor

1949 - Panorama de la direction furtwänglérienne
   

Retour  

 

 

Panorama de la direction furtwänglérienne

 

1949

 

 

Bruckner, Symphonie n°7

 

par Felix Matus-Echaiz

 

 

CD SWF 051

 

                                      Bruckner

Symphonie n°7

              Orchestre Philharmonique de Berlin

                                        18.X.1949, Berlin

 
 
1

  I. Allegro moderato
0’00 - 1’02

La première minute de cette symphonie est un bel et significatif exemple de l'art du maniement du tempo par Furtwängler.

Quatre tempi différents y sont présents. Ces changements correspondent exactement aux quatre segments du thème principal; un des plus longs des motifs brucknériens (début de la deuxième symphonie excepté). En fait il ne s'agit donc pas tant de changement de tempo, que d’adaptation du tempo à l’expression

Le premier tempo (0’0-0’10) nous mène avec allant vers la note aiguë des violoncelles. Le changement de tessiture (à 0’13), et de climat, est marqué une légère inflexion du tempo. Le troisième tempo (à 0’34), plus rapide, et qui donnera plus d’intensité au chant des violoncelles, est amené par des trémolos plus nerveux. Le quatrième (à 0’45), qui marque la fin du motif principal, est en fait un ralentissement.

L’ interprétation de la mesure de transition du thème des violoncelles aux violons est un chef-d'oeuvre d’intelligence musicale et expressive.

       
 
2

  I. Allegro moderato
4'20 - 5'04

Ce passage est difficile à mettre en lumière car il constitue un grand crescendo qui aboutit à un... piano. Furtwängler allie à la perfection deux ce ses atouts majeurs : sens de l’expression et logique musicale. Le chef refuse d’y voir un passage monolithique, bien au contraire il met subtilement en évidence sa structure tripartite marquée par l’intervention de nouveaux instruments. Pour souligner chaque séquence (soit au début de cet extrait, puis à 0’20 et 0’28), le chef relance le discours musical en «aiguillonnant» l’orchestre. Un grand rallentando mène au sommet du crescendo.

       
 
3

 I. Allegro moderato
6'02 - 6'50

Les seize mesures de ce passage, au caractère nettement pastoral, sont un véritable havre de paix. La légèreté et la transparence des cordes suscite l’admiration. A noter, l’intervention du cor (à 0’18) et le rallentando en finesse (à 0’24).

       
 
4

 I. Allegro moderato
7’54 - 8’24

Le passage du développement, où les violoncelles jouent le deuxième thème du mouvement, est un des plus poignants que Bruckner ait composé. Les huit mesures préparatoires de ce grand moment (deux «questions» posées tour à tour par les violoncelles et ensuite par les violons et hautbois) interprétées par Furtwängler nous font retenir notre souffle.

       
 
5

I. Allegro moderato
8’26 - 9’17

Les violoncelles, déjà mis à l’honneur au début de la symphonie, s’approprient ces mesures. Le «peu expressif», demandé souvent par le chef dans ce type de passage, ne fait que mettre en valeur l’ampleur du chant et l’accablement qu’il exprime.

       
 
6

I. Allegro moderato
17’43-19’09

Si le début du mouvement est une bonne entrée en matière pour qui veut s’initier à la «magie» du tempo chez Furtwängler, la Coda l’est pour se familiariser avec ses crescendos inégalés.

Nous retrouvons la structure tripartite dont la mise en valeur est indispensable pour la clarté et la compréhension de ce passage.

Le premières mesures de cette Coda (0’0-0’24) sont jouées avec le minimum d’intensité expressive. Un net changement de climat (à 0’25), dont le chef avait le secret, marque la deuxième section de ce vaste crescendo. La troisième partie (à 0’41), où l’envolée définitive commence, semble être la «libération» de l'énergie cumulée dans les mesures précédentes.

Dans les dernières mesures la force des cors et la timbale, laquelle semble «casser» l’orchestre, sont à écouter avec attention.

  (c) 2005    

 

 

 

Le compositeur | L'homme | Le chef d'orchestre